Tangled Up in Texas Book Five

By: Author Michelle Beattie

Purchase: Cowboy Honor

Genre/Trope: #ContemporaryRomance #ExMilitary #SecretBaby

My Rating: 5

Cover: 5

POV: Third-person alternating perspectives

Publication: June 10th 2021

Read: May 11th 2021 *Review copy provided by Tule Publishing

Add to Goodreads TBR: Cowboy Honor

Check out the Tangled Up in Texas series on Goodreads


This time he wants it allโ€ฆ

Hudson Grangerโ€™s family has been estranged since he was a boy. Sixteen years later, not much is different. Or so he thought. After an eighteen-month deployment, he arrives home to his familyโ€™s Texas ranch and is shocked by how much life has changed. His brothers are mending fences and have found love. Their father is slowly recovering from a massive heart attack. The kick to Hudsonโ€™s chestโ€”learning he has an infant daughter.

Nurse Avery Collins never planned on telling Hudson their vacation fling had resulted in a child. Heโ€™d made it clear he wasnโ€™t looking for anything serious, and after her dad ran out on her and her family, she didnโ€™t want to rely on a man for anything. But when her daughter has a serious health scare, Averyโ€™s hand is forced.

Despite their sizzling attraction, Avery is determined to keep Hudson at armโ€™s length, co-parenting only. But Hudson wants everythingโ€”a wife and a family. And heโ€™s determined to get it.


Written beautifully leaving my heart light and my face smiling when it was over, this book had a good, steady pace so I barely noticed how quickly I was reading. The sad part? It was over too soon.

Cowboy Honor is the last book in this series, the latest Granger brother to find his happily-ever-after. And if any group of siblings deserved a happy ending, it was definitely the Granger brothers. This was Hudson and Avery’s story. Let me also say that Avery was desperately in need of a happy ending as well. I’m so happy they found it in each other.

This is the fifth and final book of the Tangled in Texas series. I read book one some time ago. In that book we are introduced to the dynamic of the Grangers, and it is not a good one. These siblings, thanks to their own father and his inability to deal with his wife’s terminal illness, have grown into solemn, angry men. There is a mystery revolving around the Granger patriarch that resolves at the end of book four and as a result of that deceit has Hudson dealing with finding out he is a father. A secret that was kept from him.

Since I have only read book one, and now book five, it was apparent I missed out on a lot. While Cowboy Honor can be read as a standalone, there were many references to something that happened in book four that I wish I was privy to beforehand. Having met all the Grangers in the first book, I feel like I missed out on their character developments. I was curious about them then and even more so now so needless to say, I will be back reading the other books.

This book is filled with emotions; angst, anger, frustration and betrayal being front and center. But quickly, Hudson finds himself a father and love and joy slowly shadow his other emotions. I won’t go into the specifics but I will tell you this book is about trusting and forgiveness and a love that is realistic. The main protagonists did not have an easy road. Both having issues other than their co-parenting. Avery and Hudson had their own doses of father issues that were not so easily resolved. I think I can honestly say that the romance wasn’t my favorite aspect in this particular book. I found myself invested with everything all at the same time.

This book was a pleasure to read and I definitely recommend it! While I did receive an advanced reading copy ofย Cowboy Honor,ย this is my honest and unbiased review and I thank you for taking the time to read it. ๐Ÿ™‚

You can also find me here:

Facebook Blog

Facebook pages:     




Amazon (for my reviews):  Christine Indriolo


Blog:  Justlovemybooks:

Book Bub:ย